I sent an email to the company and received the following response:
Thank you for contacting us regarding 8th Continent soymilk.
The Vitamin D used in 8th Continent soymilk is Vitamin D3, Cholecalciferol, from wool fat (lanolin). Thus, 8th Continent soymilk is not a vegan product.
We appreciate your interest in our product.
Susan L. Fink
Thank you for your prompt response.
I am troubled by the fact that the source of the D3 is not CLEARLY listed in the ingredients or that there is not some sort of notice on the label.
As a strict vegan, my choice to not drink "cow milk" is born of a desire to avoid animal products. It saddens me that turning to soy milk as an alternative, at least in the case of 8th Continent, is not an option.
I do hope that your company will seriously contemplate the loss of vegan consumers and revise your position on including animal byproducts in your "milk alternative." All things said, I believe that most vegans would find it less cruel to actually drink cow's milk, since it does not require the actual actual injury of an animal in order to extract fat from its wool. Many animals are injured during the shearing process.
The email address for Ms. Fink is 8thContinent@genmills.com and I hope that everyone will write in!
x-posted to several vegan communities.